Wednesday, September 19, 2007

MP Bags Rajiv Gandhi Wildlife Conservation Award.

Posted September 18th, 2007 by TariqueIndia News By Pervez Bari,

Bhopal: The Union Ministry of Environment and Forests has conferred Rajiv Gandhi Wildlife Conservation Award to Madhya Pradesh state in individual category for the year 2005.

This was informed by the Madhya Pradesh Minister for Forests Kunwar Vijay Shah here today. The award is given annually in two categories for outstanding contribution to conservation of wildlife to an official/non-official person and institution.

The Minister informed that Government of India has selected Dr. H.S. Negi, a 1988 batch IFS officer who is presently the Director (territorial) of Kanha Tiger Reserve for the individual award for the year 2005.

The award is being given to Dr. Negi for his significant contribution to wildlife conservation as Deputy Director under Kanha Tiger Reserve, Buffer Zone and Deputy Director Kanha National Park. Dr. Negi very discreetly and courageously resolved the issue of opposition to opening of a buffer zone forest division of Kanha National Park. He convinced the target villages about the importance of the buffer zone forest division and motivated them to be partner in wildlife conservation. The comparatively less bio-pressure and peace in Kanha National Park is a tribute to his efforts.

Subsequently, different strategies were implemented under the leadership of Dr. Negi for effective protection and conservation of wildlife and wildlife areas. He exhibited exemplary sagacity and activeness in developing the Fen wildlife sanctuary as a satellite micro corp and ecological gallery arrival of wild animals. During his tenure as Director, Kanha National Park came to be known for efficient technical management, which included protection of Barahasingha, which is in crisis of extinction.

It may be mentioned here that earlier Dr. Negi had received the Pata Award of the World Nature Foundation in year 2000 and World Gold Medal by Madhya Pradesh Government in year 2001 for his outstanding services. (


No comments: